Military Order of William

The Military Order of William is the oldest and highest honour in the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Founded on 30 April 1815, it is conferred on individuals who have distinguished themselves in battle by performing acts of conspicuous bravery (moed), leadership (beleid) and devotion to duty (trouw).

The Order has four classes: Knight Grand Cross, Commander, Knight Third Class and Knight Fourth Class.


There are currently four living Knights Fourth Class of the Military Order of William:

Major Marco Kroon (b. 1970)

Lieutenant colonel Gijs Tuinman (b. 1979)

Major (Air Force Reserve) Roy de Ruiter (b. 1981)


The colours of nine military units have been decorated with the Military Order of William.

Find out more

History of the Military Order of William